# Kandiyohi Power Cooperative Minutes of the Annual Meeting of the Members April 23, 2024

The Annual Meeting of the Members of Kandiyohi Power Cooperative (KPC) was held in person on Tuesday, April 23<sup>rd</sup>, 2024, at Little Crow Golf Resort in New London, MN. The meeting was hosted by Board Chair, Dale Anderson & CEO, Ryan Nelson. Presenters were Zac Ruzycki, Great River Energy's Resource Planning Director; Dave Baker, Minnesota State Representative; Patrick Krueger, CFO; Chad Felstul; Attorney. The following Directors were present: Darrell Fostervold, Todd Post, Larry Powers, Rollo Campe, Dale Anderson, Kelly Erickson, Dan Pomranke, and Stan Wubben. The following employees were present: Brent Hatlestad, Michele Scheffler, Bryan Ashburn, Kim Hanson, Carmen Norstedt, and Ashley Hauge.

Chair Anderson called the meeting to order at 9:04 a.m.

Invocation by Secretary, Stan Wubben.

The National Anthem was played on the monitor.

Chair Anderson appointed Chad Felstul, Attorney, to function as parliamentarian for the Annual Meeting. He then appointed Kim Hanson to function as Secretary for the Annual Meeting.

A member quorum is necessary for the Cooperative to transact business at the Annual Meeting. Following the Call to Order, Secretary Wubben reported that he verified registration of members present at the Annual Meeting and has determined sufficient members are present to constitute the quorum for the transaction of business of the association.

Secretary Wubben read the Notice of the Annual Members Meeting followed by the Certificate of Mailing regarding the ballots sent to the district members.

A motion was made and seconded by the audience to approve the 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes. Motion carried.

#### MINNESOTA STATE REPRESENTATIVE, DAVE BAKER COMMENTS:

- Extended many thanks for the opportunity to guest speak.
- Expressed the importance of a good, strong, electric cooperative.
- Reviewed the importance of local needs and state government making goals that align.
- Discussed the 2040 Carbon free mandate and challenges that come with it.

#### **GRE, ZAC RUZYCKI COMMENTS:**

- Recap of GRE and decisions made over the last 20 years.
- Portfolio overview: strong capacity position, energy supply, member resources, market as battery.
- Carbon Free 2040 Legislation, GRE in progress and optimistic on figuring out how to get there.
- Reviewed their Portfolio: competitive mix of resources.
- Grant information and GRE's progress update.

## **CHAIRMAN, DALE ANDERSON COMMENTS:**

- Review of Democratic process that member-owners have.
- Aim to do what is best for our individual districts, but also for the cooperative in general.
- A strategic plan is created and then it falls to leadership at the cooperative to execute
- Discussed the importance of leadership within the cooperative.

### CEO, RYAN NELSON COMMENTS:

- By the Numbers: 2023
  - o \$56,905.50 saved by members using rebates.
  - o 8,452 members assisted over the phone by member services.
  - o 23 water heaters sold.
  - o 3,139 households on load management program.
  - o 24 full-time employees.
  - o 7.493 member-owners.
  - o 9.019 services.
  - o 4,115 miles of wire.
  - o 5.5 members per mile of line.
- Review of 2023: savings, programs, rebates, incentives, training.
- KPC grant opportunities.
- Community involvement and member event recap.
- Review of awards and recognition.

#### CFO, PATRICK KRUEGER COMMENTS:

- Highlights of 2023 balance sheet.
- Highlights of 2023 operating statement.
- Overview of where dollars were brought in from and went out to at KPC in 2023.
- Discussed the July 2023 storm and the effort put in by all at KPC employees to work together.
- Financial local community impact of KPC in 2023 review.

#### **OPERATION ROUNDUP TRUSTEE, ROBERT MOLLER COMMENTS:**

• There are 79% of KPC accounts participating in Operation Round Up.

• ORU gave away just over \$58,250 in 2023.

Chair Anderson introduced present board members.

Chair Anderson introduced the nominees by district running for the current Board Director positions:

- District 1 (Incumbent) Rollo Campe; Candidate, Ross Erickson
- District 2 Candidate, Rick Nass; (Incumbent) Todd Post; Candidate, John Wallin
- District 3 (Incumbent) Kelly Erickson

OLD BUSINESS - None

NEW BUSINESS - None

Member questions included inquiries about the access fee and the opportunity to attend board meetings.

## REPORTING OF ELECTION RESULTS – the three directors elected are:

- District 1 Rollo Campe by majority ballot votes.
- District 2 Todd Post by majority ballot votes.
- District 3 Kelly Erickson by acclamation.
- Proposed Amendments to Kandiyohi Power Cooperative's Articles of Incorporation –
  Pass
- Proposed Amendments to Kandiyohi Power Cooperative's Bylaws Pass

All newly elected directors will serve a 3-year term.

After no further business, the meeting was adjourned at 11:06a.m.

Respectfully submitted,	
Stan Wubben, Secretary	
Stair Wabben, Secretary	